Past Scientech Programs in 2018



1/8/2018 --- The Future of Artificial Intelligence: Deep Learning and Blockchain Crypto-Ledgers Speaker: Melanie Swan (Email: m@melanieswan.com) Sponsored By: Alison Brown
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



1/15/2018 --- Art and Neuroscience Speaker: Shirley M. Mueller, MD (Email: shirleymaloneymueller@gmail.com) Sponsored By: Bonnie Carter
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



1/22/2018 --- Vonnegut on the Planet Speaker: Chris Lafave (Email: chris.lafave@vonnegutlibrary.org) Sponsored By: Jeff Rasley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



1/29/2018 --- Centuries of Change Speaker: William H. Dick (Email: whdick42@tds.net) Sponsored By: William H. Dck
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



2/5/2018 --- The Kids Are Smart Enough, So What's the Problem?...The Back Story Speaker: Dick Garrett Sponsored By: Dick Garrett
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



2/12/2018 --- Space and Space Exploration Speaker: Kurt Williams (Email: kwilliams@linkobservatory.org) Sponsored By: Kurt Williams
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



2/12/2018 --- Making a Place for the Displaced Speaker: Saima Hassan (Email: shassan@obathelpers.org) Sponsored By: Alison Brown
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



2/19/2018 --- Strange Universe Speaker: Kurt Williams Sponsored By: Kurt Williams
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



2/26/2018 --- Are There "OPTIONS" For Teens In Detention? Speaker: Jill Meisenheimer (Email: jill.meisenheimer@outlook.com) Sponsored By: Robert Yee
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



3/5/2018 --- Intermodal Mystery: How Science Saved the Double-Stacked Train Speaker: Jim Dillon (Email: jdillon@indy.rr.com) Sponsored By: James C. Dillon
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



3/12/2018 --- Criminals Can Disappear & Change Identity Speaker: Greg Wright (Email: CFEgreg@gmail.com) Sponsored By: William H. Dick
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



3/19/2018 --- History of Allison 1915 - 2017 Speaker: Larry Nightingale Sponsored By: John Rathman
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



3/26/2018 --- Deficiency of plasminogen activator inhibitor type 1 (PAI-1) Problems and Promises of a Genetic Mutation Speaker: Dr. Sweta Gupta (Email: sgupta@IHTC.org) Sponsored By: Alison Brown
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/2/2018 --- The Future of Math and Science Education Speaker: Chris Edwards (Email: edwardsscedward@aol.com) Sponsored By: Jeff Rasley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/9/2018 --- Theft of $450,000, a nickle at a time. Speaker: Greg Wright (Email: CFEgreg@gmail.com) Sponsored By: M. P. Meisenheimer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/16/2018 --- Cut your cable? The whys, and the hows, and what you can do to replace some of the content. Speaker: Bill Elliott Sponsored By: Ken Pendleton
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/23/2018 --- A Return to Iwo Jima Speaker: James Baize (Email: j-baize@sbcglobal.net) Sponsored By: M. P. Meisenheimer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/30/2018 --- Nikola Tesla Speaker: Richard Gunderman (Email: rbgunder@iu.edu) Sponsored By: Gerald Kurlander
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



5/7/2018 --- Lincoln; his views about death,ghosts and seances Speaker: Brian Dirck (Email: Brdirck@anderson.edu) Sponsored By: Russell Judd
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



5/14/2018 --- How our brains learn, develop, and respond to adversity Speaker: Dr. Lori Desautels (Email: ldesaute@butler.edu) Sponsored By: Dr. Alan D. Schmidt
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



5/21/2018 --- Jenny's Allure Speaker: Ruth Ann Ingraham (Email: rai38@sbcglobal.net) Sponsored By: Ruth Ann Ingraham
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



6/4/2018 --- TOUR--- Tour of Stark Neurosciences Research Institute at IU School of Medicine Speaker: Dr. Bruce Lamb (Email: btlamb@iu.edu) Sponsored By: Jim Bettner and Ken Crook
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



6/11/2018 --- Pictures at an Exhibition Speaker: Robert Pascuzzi MD (Email: rpascuzz@iupui.edu) Sponsored By: Karen Bumb
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



6/18/2018 --- "Road Map to Racism" - Making of 1890 Mississippi Constitution Speaker: Dorothy Overstreet Pratt (Email: DorothyPratt2@gmail.com) Sponsored By: Robert Yee
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



6/25/2018 --- Indiana's Central State Hospital Speaker: Chuck Hazelrigg (Email: cchazelrigg@sbcglobal.net) Sponsored By: Robert Yee
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



7/9/2018 --- A Trip Along the Spine of the U.S.- The Rocky Mountains Speaker: Lou Stanley (Email: lou.stanley3@comcast.net) Sponsored By: Bill Stanley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



7/16/2018 --- Natural History of Central Indiana,past,present,future. Speaker: Tom Swinford (Email: tswinford@dnr.in.gov) Sponsored By: Douglas Sherow
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



7/23/2018 --- Repurposing the Naval Armory Speaker: John Watson Janet McNeal and Jason Simons (Email: jsimons@herronhighschool.org) Sponsored By: Peggy Sabens Gerald Keener (member)
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



7/30/2018 --- An Overview of the Latest Nobel Prizes in Chemistry, Physics, and Medicine Speaker: Dick Carter, Alan Schmidt, Tom Lauer (Email: All club members - see roster) Sponsored By: Jim Willson
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



8/6/2018 --- Women in Engineering Speaker: Terri Talbert-Hatch, Ed.D (Email: ttalbert@iupui.edu) Sponsored By: Joe Abella
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



8/13/2018 --- Why We Sleep Speaker: William Dick (Email: whdick42@tds.net) Sponsored By: William Dick
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



8/20/2018 --- Ice age in Indiana exhibit Speaker: Susannah Koerbor (Email: Skoerber@indianamuseum.org) Sponsored By: Steve springer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



8/27/2018 --- Life Under Japanese Occupation Speaker: Gonz Chua (Email: gonzchua@sbcglobal.net) Sponsored By: Gonz Chua
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



9/10/2018 --- Hearing loss and cochlear implant treatment Speaker: Dr Ben Copeland MD Sponsored By: David Bash
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



9/17/2018 --- Production of Nuclear Medicines Speaker: John Zehner Sponsored By: Steve Springer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



9/24/2018 --- Genetically Modified Plants: Marvel or Malady Speaker: Peter Goldsbrough (Email: goldsbrough@purdue.edu) Sponsored By: Karen Bumb
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



10/1/2018 --- On the Track of Shackleton-A trip to Antarctica Speaker: Lou Stanley (Email: lou.stanley3@comcast.net) Sponsored By: Bill Stanley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



10/8/2018 --- Postcards of World War I Speaker: Chuck Hazelrigg (Email: cchazelrigg@sbcglobal.net) Sponsored By: Robert Yee
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



10/15/2018 --- Aquatic Habitat: What Is It And Why Does It Matter? Speaker: Thomas Lauer (Email: tlauer@bsu.edu) Sponsored By: Thomas Lauer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



10/22/2018 --- Medical Aid in Dying Speaker: Rebecca Thoman, M.D. (Email: rthoman@compassionand choices.org) Sponsored By: Dr. Alan D. Schmidt
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



10/29/2018 --- starting and building an internet based bank, or a mouse that survived and thrived in an elephant herd Speaker: David Becker (Email: dbecker@firstib.com) Sponsored By: Jerry Williams
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



11/5/2018 --- Veterans Day Salute Speaker: New Horizons Swing Band Sponsored By: George McCord
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



11/12/2018 --- Ageing with Grace Speaker: Laura A.. Karcher (Email: lkarcher@indiana.edu) Sponsored By: Malcolm Mallette
(Scribe Summary: HERE)